Located next to the offices of the City of Luxembourg's Service Autobus (Bus Department), the Tramsmusée takes visitors on a fascinating journey through the past, present and future of public transit in Luxembourg. Discover trams and buses restored to perfect condition, a collection of 1:8-scale models and a large exhibition area.
The vehicles on display were first collected in the early 1960s, when it was planned to discontinue the tram system in favour of buses. The City of Luxembourg's thousand-year anniversary (1963) and the last journey by an electric tram (1964) led to the production of extraordinarily accurate 1:8-scale models of the trams in the workshops of the Service Autobus. Following this, other model trams and buses were built. Looking at these intricate models, visitors can appreciate how these vehicles have changed over time. In addition to the collection and acquisition of various items (controller uniforms, tickets, punchers, maps and plans), the museum has also acquired a large number of written artefacts for documentary purposes. This is how the impressive array of items currently on display came into being. Featuring several thousand documents, the collection retraces the history of mobility in Luxembourg City.
Today, the museum has two operational electric trams, two tram engines, a life-size replica of a horse-drawn tram, two buses and a spectacular Ford wagon used for catenary maintenance. With the help of exhibition guides and several explanatory plans, mechanics enthusiasts can get a close-up view of an engine and gear system in motion, and learn more about the vehicles' technical specifications. Whether you're in search of the most advanced technological information or want to indulge your sense of nostalgia, this museum will have something to tickle everyone's fancy.
Key historical milestones
- From 1875 to 1908, the City of Luxembourg had a network of horse-drawn trams that covered around 3 kilometres.
- The official launch of an electric tram network in August 1908 brought about the end of horse-drawn trams and a complete replacement of the existing infrastructure.
- On 5 September 1964, Luxembourg City's electric trams were then replaced by buses.
Tram and Bus Museum
- Tel. : 4796-2385
- Fax : 299209
Saturdays, Sundays and official public holidays
(except on 1 November, All Saints' Day: closed)
Guided tours available by appointment