Municipal bills

Bills sent to you by the municipal office should be paid to the Recette communale (Municipal Revenue Department) (unless the bill includes the bank account information of a specific office)

Cash desk

You can pay your bills:

  • in cash or by card at the cash desk of the Bierger-Center (open 8:00-17:00).

Estimated waiting time

It is  01:24

Pay your bills / Pick up your ID

  •  at the counters of the Recette communale (Rocade de Bonnevoie, tel. 4796-2913), open Monday to Friday from 8:30-11:45.

Direct debit

For recurring bills, property taxes, and municipal taxes, we recommend payment by direct debit. The relevant forms are available at the Recette communale.

Bank payment or wire transfer

You may also choose to pay or wire the amount due to one of the accounts listed below. If you choose this option, please remember to specify the customer number, invoice number, and the municipal department that issued the bill.

  • POST: IBAN LU44 1111 0000 1515 000
  • Banque et Caisse d'Epargne de l'Etat: IBAN LU72 0019 1001 0120 4000
  • Banque Générale du Luxembourg: IBAN LU39 0030 0400 1484 0000
  • Banque Internationale à Luxembourg: IBAN LU58 0021 1018 3500 0000
  • Banque de Luxembourg: IBAN LU11 0080 4081 0700 1003
  • Banque Raiffeisen: IBAN LU04 0090 0000 0235 8000
  • Banque ING: IBAN LU98 0141 5100 1000 0000
  • Banque BCP: IBAN LU45 0250 0040 5845 8000

Queries and complaints

Any queries must be addressed to the municipal department that issued the bill. Complaints should be sent in writing to the college of the mayor and aldermen within the time period indicated on the bill. Filing a complaint does not release you from the obligation to pay within the required time period.

Payment extensions 

If you need a payment extension, do not wait until the Recette communale has commenced legal proceedings. Instead, try to come to an arrangement as soon as you receive the bill.


For invoices regarding tap water/wastewater, ground sealing fees, bin collection (billed annually) and district heating, you can sign up to our electronic invoicing service and receive your bills by email.

Form(s) to be completed

Request e-invoicing


Authenticated method carried out entirely online

Do you have one of these connection types?

  • Use an authenticated method carried out entirely online
  • Manage your supporting documents
  • Use a digital signature method approved by the State
  • Monitor the progress of your procedures

This method requires the use of a LuxTrust product!

Via form

Once your email address has been registered in our system, you will receive a confirmation email from the Recette communale. ​

Property tax

Property tax A Municipal rate

Agricultural and forest property



Property tax B Municipal rate

B1 manufacturing and business construction


B2 mixed-use construction


B3 construction for other uses


B4 single-family homes and income-producing properties


B5 unbuilt property other than buildable land for residential purposes


B6 buildable land for residential purposes


Jurisdiction of the Luxembourg Inland Revenue (Administration des Contributions)

The Property Valuation Department (Service des évaluations immobilières) of the Luxembourg Inland Revenue (located at 5, Rue de Hollerich, L-1023 Luxembourg) issues reports on valuations and tax bases.

Jurisdiction of the City of Luxembourg

The municipal tax is set for each calendar year by the municipal council. The amount of the tax must be approved by Ministry of the Interior (Ministère de l'Intérieur).

Property taxes are calculated by multiplying the tax basis by the municipal tax rate.

Tax cards

Tax cards are issued to Luxembourg City residents by the Luxembourg Inland Revenue. Please refer to on how to apply for and amend tax cards.