Shared supervision

The schools are supervised by:

  • the Minister in charge of education. The Minister determines the overall objectives, basic curricula and entry requirements for schools, as well as the administration and remuneration of school staff.
  • the municipal council and the college of the mayor and aldermen of the municipalities, according to their respective responsibilities. They ensure compliance with the requirement for compulsory education, determine and approve the organisation of the school system, approve the school development plan, subsidise the cost of building and fitting out primary schools, handle building maintenance and school safety, and implement the educational offering in the preschool system (Cycle 1.0) and the supervision of extra-curricular activities.

Regional directorates

The country's fifteen regional directorates are managed by teams consisting of a director and two to four deputies. Their duties include:

  • providing administrative management and educational oversight of the schools in their region;
  • engaging in dialogue with and supporting educational staff;
  • assisting with the vocational integration of young teachers and childcare workers;
  • managing relations between educational staff within schools, between schools and students, and between schools and parents.

Along with the chairs of the school committees, the regional directorates:

  • formulate school development measures;
  • organise mainstreaming;
  • and monitor the implementation of school development plans.

Luxembourg City falls within the scope of authority of Regional Directorate 01.

Contact details

Ministère de l'Éducation nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse - Direction de région 01

5, rue Thomas Edison
L-1445 Strassen

Directrice de région :
Françoise Welbes

School committee

Each school has a school committee with three to nine members (at least two-thirds of whom are teachers), whose responsibilities and duties include the following:

  • The school committee formulates:
    • a proposal for the organisation of the school;
    • a school development plan (PDS);
    • a proposal for the distribution of the operating budget allocated to the school.
  • They offer their opinion on any matter concerning school staff as well as on any topic about which the school commission wishes to consult them.
  • They determine ongoing training needs for staff.
  • They organise the management of the school's educational and computer equipment.

The chair is appointed by the Minister on the basis of a proposal by the committee. School committee members serve for a five-year term that may be renewed.

In some municipalities, including Luxembourg City, there is also a co-management committee that oversees the exchange of information and best practices between schools.

School development plan (PDS)

Schools are required to formulate a school development plan (plan de développement scolaire – PDS). These plans, which span several years, represent a sort of mission statement for the school, which takes local circumstances into account and defines initiatives to be pursued in the following areas:

  • collaboration with parents;
  • educational support for pupils with difficulties;
  • supervision for pupils with special needs;
  • IT integration;
  • improving the quality of learning and teaching;
  • collaboration between the school and foyers scolaires (childcare centres).

The PDS is formulated by the school committee under the responsibility of the chair and in concert with the school's partners, including parent representatives and the directors of childcare facilities. The school commission offers advice and the PDS is approved by the municipal council.