Skip to main content

Description

The family of Mathias Schaaf and Marie-Anne Gengler, the last owners of the burial plot before the City of Luxembourg took it over in 2018, had its roots in Ettelbruck. In 1879, the family, whose forebears had historically been farmers, moved its fabric, curtain and household linen shop from Route de Diekirch in Ettelbruck to the intersection of Rue de la Reine and Rue du Fossé in Luxembourg City, near Place Guillaume II. Mathias Schaaf-Gengler bought his wares in London and Paris and opened a men's and women's clothing shop in Luxembourg City. The family was among the trailblazing retailers who sold items produced on an industrial scale, and specialised in a single trade. The merchandise was sold at set prices and changed every season. The firm sold work clothing, aprons, ceremonial clothing and coats. Edmond Schaaf took over the business from his father in 1889.

His sister, Marie Schaaf, married Jules Salentiny (1854–1931), who is also buried in this vault and was an honorary director of the Water and Forestry Agency (Administration des Eaux et Forêts) from 1923, member of the Grand-Ducal Institute (Institut Grand-Ducal), member of the Supreme Forest Council (Conseil Supérieur Forestier), and Officer of the Order of the Oak Crown. Jules Salentiny began his career in 1879 as an assistant forester, and went on to serve as a forest ranger in Mersch (1894), inspector (1909) and then Director of Water and Forests in Luxembourg City. His forestry policy was always guided by the goal of expanding the government's territory. The son of Jules Salentiny and Marie Schaaf (1859–1941), Jules Salentiny (1894–1962) was sworn in as a barrister in 1919.

In 1921 he passed the notary's examination. In 1922 he became a deputy judge in the magistrate's court, then later a judge in the Diekirch district court and a judge in the Luxembourg district court. He subsequently became an examining magistrate, and in 1935, was appointed to the bench in the Supreme Court of Justice. He ended his career as the presiding judge of the Court of Justice. In 1926, Salentiny took a stance on the prenuptial medical certificate from the legal and social perspective, standing out with his progressive views: "We cannot emphasise strongly enough that working as a prostitute – irrespective of any issue of morals or of law and order – constitutes only the right to use one's body and person freely, and consequently, within the meaning of the Criminal Code, prostitution should not be considered an offence and repression is not warranted" ("Regelung des ältesten Gewerbe", in D’Lëtzebuerger Land of 12 March 1965).


Contact
the department

Contact details

275, Val Ste Croix
L-1371 Luxembourg

A connected city ​

Follow Luxembourg City on social media

Social media

Follow the City of Luxembourg on social media.

Zum Hauptinhalt gehen
Menü

Beschreibung


Der letzte Konzessionär dieses Grabs, das 2018 wieder der Stadt Luxemburg zufiel, war die Familie Mathias Schaaf und Marie-Anne Gengler aus Ettelbrück. Die ehemalige Bauernfamilie hatte 1879 ihr Geschäft für Stoffe, Vorhänge und Haushaltswäsche von der Route de Diekirch in Ettelbrück an die Ecke Rue de la Reine/Rue du Fossé in Luxemburg verlegt, die sich in unmittelbarer Nähe zur Place Guillaume II befindet.Darüber hinaus eröffnete Mathias Schaaf-Gengler mit aus London und Paris importierten Waren ein Konfektionsgeschäft für Damen- und Herrenmode in Luxemburg. Als eine der ersten Händlerfamilien, die sich auf die Ausübung nur eines Berufs spezialisierte, zählte die Familie Schaaf-Gengler auch zu den Pionieren bei der industriellen Fertigung von Artikeln. Das Festpreisangebot wurde je nach Saison angepasst. Im Laden wurden Berufskleidung, Schürzen, Kleidung für feierliche Anlässe und Mäntel zum Verkauf angeboten. 1889 übergab Mathias Schaaf das Geschäft an seinen Sohn Edmond.

Dessen Schwester, Marie Schaaf, hatte Jules Salentiny (1854–1931) geheiratet, der neben seinen zahlreichen Funktionen – ehrenamtlicher Leiter der Wasser- und Forstverwaltung (Administration des Eaux et Forêts) seit 1923, Mitglied des Großherzoglichen Instituts und des Hohen Forstrats (Conseil Supérieur Forestier) – auch Träger des Ordens der Eichenkrone (Offizier) war und ebenfalls im Familiengrab bestattet ist. Jules Salentiny hatte seine Karriere 1879 als Förster-Assistent begonnen und stieg dann zuerst zum allgemeinen Forstwart in Mersch auf (1894), bevor er 1909 zum Forstinspektor und schließlich zum Leiter der Wasser- und Forstverwaltung in Luxemburg befördert wurde. Mit seiner Forstpolitik zielte er stets darauf ab, die staatlichen Forstflächen zu erweitern. Der Sohn von Jules Salentiny (1894–1962) und Marie Schaaf (1859–1941), der ebenfalls den Namen Jules Salentiny trug, leistete 1919 den Eid als zugelassener Rechtsanwalt (Avocat à la Cour).

1921 legte er auch die Notariatsprüfung erfolgreich ab. Ab 1922 war er zuerst als Ersatzrichter am Friedensgericht und danach als Richter am Bezirksgericht von Diekirch sowie am Bezirksgericht von Luxemburg tätig. In weiterer Folge arbeitete Jules Salentiny als Untersuchungsrichter, bevor er 1935 zum Richter am Obersten Gerichtshof ernannt wurde. Den krönenden Abschluss seiner Karriere bildete das Amt des Präsidenten des Obersten Gerichtshofs.1926 hatte sich Salentiny zum Thema der vorehelichen ärztlichen Bescheinigung aus rechtlicher und sozialer Sicht geäußert und hatte durch seinen für die damalige Zeit kühnen Standpunkt für Aufruhr gesorgt: „Es kann nicht genug betont werden, dass die Ausübung der Prostitution – einmal abgesehen von der Frage der Sittlichkeit und der öffentlichen Ordnung – lediglich das Recht darstellt, frei über seinen Körper und seine Person zu verfügen, und dass die Prostitution aufgrund dessen im Sinne des Strafgesetzbuchs nicht als Delikt einzustufen ist, weshalb auch die Strafverfolgung nicht gerechtfertigt ist.“ (Regelung des ältesten Gewerbes, in D’Lëtzebuerger Land 12.03.1965)

Die
Dienststelle kontaktieren

Kontakt

275, Val Ste Croix
L-1371 Luxembourg