Skip to main content

Description

Charles Schmitz, who was born in Luxembourg City on 9 July 1855, had a storied legal career. He was the son of a baker, who was a foreign national, and Charles himself acquired Luxembourgish nationality in 1876. He attended the Athénée before going on to study law. He started out as an independent attorney, setting up his practise at the intersection of Rue de la Côte d'Eich and Rue du Fossé.

In 1892, he was appointed attaché to the General Directorate for Justice in Paul Eyschen's government. As a trusted confidant of Minister of State Paul Eyschen, Director-General of Finance Mathias Mongenast, and Director-General of the Interior Henri Kirpach, he quickly rose through the ranks to become Head of Office in the Government. In 1893, he was made a judge in the Court of Auditors. In 1894, he was promoted to the position of judge in the Court of Assizes and became an examining magistrate in bankruptcy cases. In 1895, he was appointed judge in the Luxembourg district court.

A devout Catholic, in 1904 he joined a group of 500 people on the first Volkswallfahrt, a German pilgrimage to the Holy Land. The pilgrimage, organised by Oberst Heinrich-von Himmel-Agisburg, was meant for the masses, offering them affordable boat passage to the Holy Land. Schmitz participated in this pilgrimage Auf nach Jerusalem Deus lo vult and subsequently recounted his experience to Luxembourg society. During this trip, he was officially received by the patriarch of Jerusalem, who bestowed on him the tile of Knight of the Order of the Holy Sepulchre. In 1905, after returning to Luxembourg City, he was received as a high court judge by Guillaume IV, heir apparent to the grand ducal throne.

Charles Schmitz died after a short illness in his villa, "Marie de Bourgogne", which was located in the municipal park. He had lived there since 1887. This prestigious residence was built in 1869 by engineer Antoine Hartmann on the former recess of Fort Marie. It was demolished in 1940. The funeral procession to Notre-Dame Cemetery set out from this villa. All the judges from the High Court of Justice and the district court followed the hearse, which could hardly be seen under all the flowers and wreaths. A delegation of police officers was dispatched to the funeral. The religious ceremony was held at the Cathedral.    


Contact
the department

Contact details

275, Val Ste Croix
L-1371 Luxembourg

A connected city ​

Follow Luxembourg City on social media

Social media

Follow the City of Luxembourg on social media.

Zum Hauptinhalt gehen
Menü

Beschreibung

Charles Schmitz wurde am 9. Juli 1855 als Sohn eines immigrierten Bäckers in Luxemburg geboren. Die luxemburgische Staatsangehörigkeit erwarb er erst 1876. Der Schüler des Athénée de Luxembourg und spätere Student der Rechtswissenschaften hatte eine beachtliche Laufbahn in der luxemburgischen Justiz vor sich. Nach dem erfolgreichen Abschluss seines Studiums ließ sich Charles Schmitz zunächst an der Ecke Côte d’Eich/Rue du Fossé als selbstständiger Rechtsanwalt nieder.

1892 wurde er unter Paul Eyschen zum Regierungsattaché der Generaldirektion für Justiz ernannt. Als Vertrauensmann des Staatsministers Paul Eyschen, des Generaldirektors für Finanzen Mathias Mongenast und des Generaldirektors für innere Angelegenheiten Henri Kirpach stieg er schnell zum Leiter des Regierungsbüros auf. Seiner Ernennung zum Rat der Rechnungskammer 1893 folgten eine Beförderung zum Richter am Schwurgerichtshof sowie eine Berufung zum Insolvenzrichter 1894. 1895 nahm er eine Stelle als Richter am Bezirksgericht Luxemburg an.

Als gläubiger Katholik nahm er 1904 an der ersten bayerischen Volkswallfahrt teil, bei der etwa 500 Pilger/innen ins Heilige Land reisten. Die Schiffsreise wurde von Oberst Heinrich von Himmel-Agisburg für die breite Masse organisiert und zu einem erschwinglichen Tarif angeboten. Mit seiner Teilnahme an der Pilgerfahrt „Auf nach Jerusalem Deus lo vult“ verfolgte Charles Schmitz das Ziel, diese Art von Reisen in luxemburgischen Kreisen bekannt zu machen. Am Zielort angelangt wurde Charles Schmitz offiziell vom Patriarchen von Jerusalem empfangen, der ihn zum Ritter des Ritterordens vom Heiligen Grab zu Jerusalem schlug. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Luxemburg wurde ihm als hochrangigen Beamten 1905 die Ehre eines Empfangs bei Erbgroßherzog Wilhelm IV zuteil.

Charles Schmit verstarb 1907 nach kurzer Krankheit in seiner Villa „Marie de Bourgogne“ im Stadtpark, die er seit 1887 bewohnt hatte. Das prestigeträchtige Gebäude war 1869 vom Ingenieur Antoine Hartmann auf dem ehemaligen Reduit des Fort Marie errichtet worden. 1940 wurde das Gebäude abgerissen. Der Trauerzug brach von der Villa zum Liebfrauenfriedhof auf. Der reichlich mit Blumen und Kränzen geschmückte Leichenwagen wurde von allen Richtern des Obersten Gerichtshofs und des Bezirksgerichts begleitet. Auch eine Delegation der Gendarmerie war zur Begräbnisfeier entsandt worden. Der Gottesdienst fand in der Kathedrale statt.    

Die
Dienststelle kontaktieren

Kontakt

275, Val Ste Croix
L-1371 Luxembourg