Skip to main content

Description

Minister of State Paul Eyschen was born in Diekirch in 1841. His father was Charles-Gérard Eyschen, president of the district court. Paul Eyschen went to secondary school at the Athénée de Luxembourg. He went on to study law in Paris, Bonn and Berlin. As he had a keen interest in politics, he managed to get himself elected in 1866, when he was just 25 years old! During the Franco-Prussian War, Paul Eyschen was a member of the Luxembourgish rescue parties, which went to the Sedan and Metz battlefields to rescue injured soldiers.

From 1875 to 1888, Eyschen served as chargé d'affaires to the German Government. In 1876, Paul Eyschen joined Félix de Blochhausen's Ministry as director-general of Justice and Public Works. In this position, he played a direct role in leading the dismantling of the fortress and the urban development of the city. From 1888 until his death in 1915, Paul Eyschen stewarded the country in his capacity as prime minister. At the Hague Conventions on disarmament in 1899 and 1907, Eyschen pleaded the cause of neutral countries.  

Over the course of his career, Luxembourg was shaped by the industrial and social revolution that transformed Europe. He knew that Luxembourg would not be able to move forward without the systematic promotion of education. Following the introduction of compulsory schooling in 1881, and the creation of the agricultural school in 1883, he continued to advocate for specialised schools. Believing that men and women are equal, he invited the Sisters of Christian Doctrine to Luxembourg City to open a home economics and agricultural school in 1891. This was followed by the creation of the École d'Industrie et du Commerce in 1892 and the École d’'rtisans de l'État in 1896. The curriculum taught at the Athénée prepared students for university study. In 1911, the Lycée de Jeunes Filles was established as a public school. The duration of primary schooling was extended to seven years and was made free. The Education Law of 1912 (loi scolaire de 1912) eliminated the certificates of morality issued by priests to primary school teachers and exempted them from teaching religious instruction classes.


Contact
the department

Contact details

275, Val Ste Croix
L-1371 Luxembourg

A connected city ​

Follow Luxembourg City on social media

Social media

Follow the City of Luxembourg on social media.

Zum Hauptinhalt gehen
Menü

Beschreibung

Paul Eyschen erlangte als Staatsminister Bekanntheit. Er wurde er 1841 als Sohn von Charles-Gérard Eyschen, dem Präsidenten des Bezirksgerichts in Diekirch, geboren. Nach dem Abitur am Athénée de Luxembourg studierte er Rechtswissenschaften in Paris, Bonn und Berlin. Paul Eyschen begeisterte sich schon früh für Politik und ließ sich 1866 im Alter von nur 25 Jahren zum ersten Mal zur Wahl aufstellen. Im Deutsch-französischen Krieg gehörte Paul Eyschen den luxemburgischen Sanitätskolonnen an, die den Verletzten auf den Schlachtfeldern in Sedan und Metz Erste Hilfe leisteten.

Von 1875 bis 1888 war er als Geschäftsträger bei der deutschen Regierung tätig. 1876 trat Paul Eyschen als Generaldirektor für Justiz und öffentliche Arbeiten in das von Félix de Blochhausen geführte Ministerium ein. In dieser Funktion war er als Bauleiter direkt an der Schleifung der Festung und der Urbanisierung Luxemburgs beteiligt. Von 1888 bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 1915 führte Paul Eyschen als Premierminister die Geschicke des Landes. Bei den Abrüstungskonferenzen, die 1899 und 1907 in Den Haag abgehalten wurden, vertrat er den Standpunkt der neutralen Staaten.  

Seine Karriere fällt zeitlich mit der industriellen und gesellschaftlichen Revolution in Luxemburg zusammen. Die Förderung von Bildung und Wissen waren seiner Überzeugung nach eine unabdingbare Voraussetzung für die künftige Entwicklung des Landes. Deshalb trieb er nach der Einführung der Schulpflicht 1881 und der Gründung der Landwirtschaftsschule im Jahr 1883 die Spezialisierung der Ausbildung weiter voran. Da Paul Eyschen von der Ebenbürtigkeit der Geschlechter überzeugt war, forderte er 1891 die Schwestern der Christlichen Lehre in Luxemburg dazu auf, eine Haus- und Landwirtschaftsschule zu eröffnen. 1892 folgte die Gründung der École d’Industrie et du Commerce, 1896 wurde die École d’Artisans de l'État ins Leben gerufen. Die Schulbildung am Athénée wurde so umgestaltet, dass sie eine Vorbereitung auf das Hochschulstudium bot. 1911 wurde das staatlich geführte Lycée de Jeunes Filles gegründet. Die Grundschulbildung wurde auf sieben Jahre ausgeweitet und war fortan kostenlos. Mit dem Schulgesetz von 1912 wurden nicht nur die Sittenzeugnisse abgeschafft, die den Lehrenden bis dahin von den Pfarrern ausgestellt wurden, sondern die Lehrkräfte auch von der Abhaltung des Religionsunterrichts befreit.

Die
Dienststelle kontaktieren

Kontakt

275, Val Ste Croix
L-1371 Luxembourg