Skip to main content

Description

Abbot Pierre Clomes, who was born on 15 January 1790, is known for creating a scholarship and for amassing an extraordinary library that he bequeathed to the state. The son of Guillaume Clomes, a farmer, and Marguerite Muller, Pierre Clomes was originally destined to take over his parents' farm. However, he felt drawn to academic pursuits, and the village curate, Mathias Wolff, gave him a basic education. He enrolled at the Luxembourg Athenaeum in 1802 and completed his studies in 1808. He then led a small contingent of young aspiring priests to the seminary in Marseille. Upon his return in 1811, he entered the Metz seminary. After being promoted to the priesthood in 1814, he was appointed curate in Esch-sur-Sûre. After six months in this village in the Ardennes, he was summoned to Luxembourg City to teach at his old school, which had been renamed the "Athénée Royal Grand-Ducal". He taught here until his death on 28 April 1853.

In 1845, Clomes became a founding member of the Society for the Study and Preservation of Historic Monuments in the Grand Duchy. Over the course of his teaching career, he amassed an impressive private library of 10,436 volumes representing 4,408 different works. He devoted his life to collecting as many books as he could that had been looted from Luxembourg's libraries during the French Revolution. In a will dated 28 October 1851, he requested that his library be sold after his death to the Athénée Royal Grand-Ducal for 4,000 francs. This sum would then be added to the "Pierre Clomes" scholarship he had created, bringing its total to 10,000 francs. This scholarship for study at the Athenaeum was meant to help a student from his family, or otherwise a young man native to Luxembourg, who had limited means but was academically talented. The government accepted the fund in 1855.

Clomes was also renowned for a number of publications: Deutsche Sprachelehre für Schulen und Gymnasien (1817) Elementarbuch der Erdbeschreibung zum Gebrauche der Primarschulen des Grossherzogtum Luxemburgs, a textbook published in three consecutive print runs up until 1848. The Elementarbuch der Erdbeschreibung zum Gebrauche der Schullehrer des Grossherzogtums Luxemburg (1828). His study, Versuch einer statistisch-geografischen Beschreibung des Grossherzogtums Luxemburg, was incorporated into the curriculum of the Athénée Royal Grand-Ducal in 1840. In collaboration with two other teachers, Joachim and Wolff, he published a Grammaire théorique et pratique de la langue latine à l’usage de l'Athénée de Luxembourg.

According to a contemporary account in the newspaper Luxemburger Wort, Abbot Pierre Clomes died with a crucifix pressed against his heart, and his last words after a brief, harrowing illness were: "God's will was always mine." The funeral procession wound through the city following the closing procession of the Octave celebration. Biographies of Pierre Clomes have been written by Michel Muller (1853), Auguste Neyen (1860) and Georges Majerus (2016).


Contact
the department

Contact details

275, Val Ste Croix
L-1371 Luxembourg

A connected city ​

Follow Luxembourg City on social media

Social media

Follow the City of Luxembourg on social media.

Zum Hauptinhalt gehen
Menü

Beschreibung

Abt Pierre Clomes wurde am 15. Januar 1790 in Useldingen geboren. Er hat sich als Wohltäter hervorgetan: Er hat dem Staat eine bedeutende Bibliothek vermacht und einen Stipendienfonds für die schulische Ausbildung ins Leben gerufen. Pierre Clomes kam als Sohn des Landwirts Guillaume Clomes und von Marguerite Muller auf die Welt. Eigentlich sollte er den Bauernhof seiner Eltern übernehmen. Da er sich für Schrift und Sprache interessierte, brachte ihm der Dorfvikar Mathias Wolff die Grundlagen des Lesens und Schreibens bei. Von 1802 bis 1808 besuchte er die Sekundarschule Luxemburgs, das Athénée de Luxembourg. Anschließend brach er an der Spitze einer kleinen Gruppe von Priesteranwärtern zum Priesterseminar in Marseille auf. Nach seiner Rückkehr im Jahre 1811 trat er in das Priesterseminar in Metz ein. 1814 wurde er nach seiner Priesterweihe zum Vikar in Esch-Sauer ernannt. Nach sechs Monaten in diesem Dorf in den Ardennen wurde er zum Lehrer an das Athénée berufen, das damals den Namen Athénée Royal Grand-Ducal (Königlich-Großherzogliches Athenäum) trug. Hier unterrichtete er bis zu seinem Tod am 28. April 1853.

Pierre Clomes war auch einer der Mitbegründer der 1845 gegründeten Société pour la recherche et la conservation des monuments historiques au Grand-Duché. Während seiner Lehrtätigkeit legte er eine beachtliche Privatbibliothek mit 4408 Werken an, die insgesamt 10 436 Bände umfasst. Hierbei engagierte er sich dafür, möglichst viele der Bücher zusammenzutragen, die im Zuge der Französischen Revolution aus luxemburgischen Bibliotheken geraubt worden waren. Mit seinem Testament vom 28. Oktober 1851 verfügte er, dass die Bibliothek nach seinem Tod für 4000 Francs an das Athénée Royal Grand-Ducal verkauft werden sollte. Der Betrag war dazu bestimmt, das Kapital des zu Lebzeiten von ihm gegründeten Stipendienfonds „Pierre Clomes“ auf 10 000 Francs zu erhöhen. Der Stipendienfonds für eine schulische Ausbildung am Athénée war für Familienmitglieder bestimmt, oder alternativ jeweils für einen jungen Mann aus Luxemburg aus bescheidenen Verhältnissen. Die Stiftung wurde 1855 vom Staat genehmigt.

Clomes hat sich auch durch eine Reihe von Publikationen einen Namen gemacht, darunter die „Deutsche Sprachlehre für Schulen und Gymnasien“ von 1817 und das „Elementarbuch der Erdbeschreibung zum Gebrauche der Primarschulen des Grossherzogtums Luxemburg“ von 1828, ein Handbuch, das bis 1848 in drei Auflagen erschienen ist. Le Elementarbuch der Erdbeschreibung zum Gebrauche der Schullehrer des Grossherzogtums Luxemburg (1828). Seine Studie „Versuch einer statistisch-geografischen Beschreibung des Grossherzogtums Luxemburg“ wurde 1840 Bestandteil des Lehrplans am Athénée Royal Grand-Ducal. In Zusammenarbeit mit den Lehrern des Athenäums Joachim und Wolff hat er weiterhin unter dem Titel „Grammaire théorique et pratique de la langue latine à l’usage de l’Athénée de Luxembourg“ eine theoretische und praktische Grammatik der lateinischen Sprache zum Gebrauch an dieser Schule veröffentlicht.

In einem Presseartikel im Luxemburger Wort der damaligen Zeit wird berichtet, dass Abt Pierre Clomes kurz vor seinem Tod – er verstarb nach kurzem aber qualvollen Leiden – ein Kreuz fest an die Brust hielt und folgende Worte sprach: „Der Wille Gottes war immer auch mein Wille.“ Der Trauerzug zog unmittelbar nach der Schlussprozession der Muttergottesoktav durch die Stadt. Drei Autoren haben dem Leben von Pierre Clomes eine Biografie gewidmet: Michel Muller (1853), Auguste Neyen (1860) und Georges Majerus (2016).

Die
Dienststelle kontaktieren

Kontakt

275, Val Ste Croix
L-1371 Luxembourg