Skip to main content

Description

Fernand Mertens was born in Leuven on 29 February 1872. He attended primary school and then the École des Frères de la Charité in this old university city. At the Leuven Conservatory, he won first prize in solfeggio at the age of 12, and first prize in the viola category at the age of 14. In 1890, he joined the 13th Regiment of the 2nd  Namur Battalion. On 12 October 1890, he became cornet cadet in the military band in Antwerp, where he continued to improve his musical skills. On 11 November 1897, he married Clémence van Kerkhoven. Mertens remained in Namur as a serviceman in the 13th regiment.

In 1894, the young Mertens won second prize in the international composers' competition in Reims, and in 1896, took first prize in Barcelona. In 1897, he joined the Luxembourg military band as a bassoonist. In 1899, he was appointed music director of the "Diddelenger Stadmusek" band, and in 1905, music director of the Hollerich, Luxembourg-Gare-Cessange municipal band. He gave music lessons to members of the E. Mercier champagne-factory band in Luxembourg-Gare. In 1906, he was appointed solfeggio professor at the Luxembourg City Conservatoire, a position he held until 1937. In 1918, he was awarded the title of Maître de chapelle de la Cour (Court Music Director). To further his musical skills throughout his career, he undertook regular study tours to Ghent, Paris, Beirut, Salzburg, Vienna, Zurich and Wiesbaden. He regularly contributed to the journal "Echo des Concours", published by Andrieu Frères-Paris. Mertens composed cantatas to mark the inaugurations of the Monument of Remembrance and the monument to Michel Rodange.

Mertens passed away in Bettembourg on 9 July 1957 and was interred at Notre-Dame Cemetery on 11 July 1957 to the sound of processional marches of his own composition.

His religious processional marches established a new tradition in the local liturgy.

Some of his most well-known compositions include:

"La Sonnerie Nationale"; Marches:

"Grande-Duchesse Charlotte", "Prince Jean", "Princesse Joséphine-Charlotte", "Lëtzebuerger-Zaldote-Marsch", "Ettelbruck, Porte des Ardennes", "Liberatiounsmarsch", "Salut à Differdange", "Lëtzebuerg Rousestad"; Polkas: "Salut à Dudelange", "Polka des masques", "Polka des bébés".

He composed the music for the operetta "D'Wonner vu Spéisbech", for the farce "De Stärksten", and for two literary works by Batty Weber. He also composed music for poems and plays written by Willy Goergen, Max Goergen, Albert Elsen, Nikolaus Hein and Nikolaus Welter. Finally, he also composed "Messe en l'honneur de Notre-Dame de Luxembourg".

Fernand Mertens was the recipient of Luxembourg's National Order of Merit, and the Gold and Silver medals of the French "Arts, Sciences et Lettres" academic society.


Contact
the department

Contact details

275, Val Ste Croix
L-1371 Luxembourg

A connected city ​

Follow Luxembourg City on social media

Social media

Follow the City of Luxembourg on social media.

Zum Hauptinhalt gehen
Menü

Beschreibung

Fernand Mertens wurde am 29. Februar 1872 in Löwen (Leuven) geboren. In dieser alten Universitätsstadt besuchte er die Grundschule, dann die Schule der Barmherzigen Brüder. Im Alter von 12 Jahren erhielt er den 1. Preis in Solfège (Gehörbildung), im Alter von 14 Jahren den 1. Preis für Bratsche am Konservatorium dieser Stadt. Im Jahr 1890 trat er in das 13. Regiment des 2. Bataillons von Namur ein. Am 12. Oktober 1890 wurde er Kornett-Schüler im Antwerpener Musikkorps, wo er sein musikalisches Können perfektionierte. Am 11. November 1897 heiratete er Clémence van Kerkhoven. Mertens blieb als Mitglied des 13. Regiments in Namur.

Als junger Mann gewann Mertens beim internationalen Wettbewerb für Komponisten 1894 in Reims den zweiten Preis und 1896 in Barcelona den ersten Preis.1897 kam er Fagottspieler zur luxemburgischen Militärmusik. 1899 übernahm er die Leitung der Diddelenger Stadmusek, 1905 jene der Harmonie Municipale Hollerich, Luxembourg-Gare, Cessange. Er gab den Mitgliedern der Harmonie der Champagne-Manufaktur E. Mercier im Bahnhofsviertel Luxemburg Musikunterricht. 1906 wurde er zum Professor für Solfège am Musikkonservatorium der Stadt Luxemburg ernannt. Diesen Posten bekleidete er bis 1937. 1918 wurde ihm der Titel „Hofkapellmeister“ verliehen. Zur Fortbildung unternahm er während seiner Karriere regelmäßig Studienreisen nach Gent, Paris, Bayreuth, Salzburg, Wien, Zürich und Wiesbaden. Für die Zeitschrift „Echo des Concours“ arbeitete er mit dem Verlagshaus Andrieu Frères Paris zusammen. Mertens komponierte eigens Kantaten für die Einweihung des Michel-Rodange-Denkmals.

Mertens starb am 9. Juli 1957 in Bettemburg und wurde am 11. Juli 1957 zu den Klängen seiner Prozessionsmärsche beerdigt.

Seine religiösen Prozessionsmärsche leiteten eine neue Tradition in der lokalen Liturgie ein.

Einige seiner bekanntesten Kompositionen: Sonnerie Nationale, die Märsche: „Grande-Duchesse Charlotte“, „Prince Jean“, „Princesse Joséphine-Charlotte“, „Lëtzebuerger-Zaldote-Marsch“, „Ettelbruck, Porte des Ardennes“, „Liberatiounsmarsch“, „Salut à Differdange“, „Lëtzebuerg Rousestad“, seine Polkas „Salut à Dudelange“, „Polka des Masques“, „Polka des Bébés“. Er schrieb die Musik zur Operette „D’Wonner vu Spéisbech“ und zur Theaterfarce „De Stärksten“, zweier literarischer Werke von Batty Weber. Ebenso komponierte er die Musik zu Gedichten und Theaterstücken von Willy Goergen, Max Goergen, Albert Elsen, Nikolaus Hein, Nikolaus Welter. Schließlich ist noch seine „Messe en l’honneur de Notre-Dame de Luxembourg“ hervorzuheben.

Fernand Mertens wurde mit den nationalen Orden von Luxemburg sowie mit der Médaille d’Or en argent des Arts, Sciences et Lettres de France ausgezeichnet.

Die
Dienststelle kontaktieren

Kontakt

275, Val Ste Croix
L-1371 Luxembourg