



# INTRODUCTION

Luxembourg City Hall houses the offices of the mayor and aldermen, as well as a number of function rooms, such as the chamber of the municipal council, the multimedia room and the wedding room. It also houses the Service du secrétariat général (General Secretariat), Service des archives (Archives Department) and Service Intégration et besoins spécifiques (Integration and Special Needs Department).

The **Bierger-Center** (Citizens' Service Centre) provides current and future residents of Luxembourg City with all they need to carry out all the necessary administrative formalities under one roof, and offers personalised services in a friendly setting.



# THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL

The municipal council issues municipal regulations, governing all matters related to the interests of the City of Luxembourg and its residents.

Meetings of the municipal council are chaired by the mayor and are held as often as required by the City's day-to-day operations, but at least once every three months. Sessions of the municipal council are open to the public (with a few exceptions) and anyone may attend as an observer.

The number of members is based on the number of residents in the municipality. In Luxembourg City, this number is set at 27.

### THE COLLEGE OF ALDERMEN

The college of aldermen is the executive body. It meets as often as required to resolve matters in a timely manner.

#### Members of the college of aldermen:

Lydie Polfer, Democratic Party (DP) – mayor

Remit: central administration, communication and public relations, cultural affairs, urban development, safety

Serge Wilmes, Christian Social People's Party (CSV) -

chief alderman

Remit: urban development, architecture, IT, trade and tourism

Simone Beissel, DP – alderwoman

Remit: infrastructure and new construction projects, sports and leisure

Patrick Goldschmidt, DP – alderman

Remit: city transport, environment, public spaces, festivals and markets, integration for people with special needs

Colette Mart, DP – alderwoman

Remit: education

Laurent Mosar, CSV – alderman

Remit: finance, municipal property and topography

Maurice Bauer, CSV – alderman

Remit: social action, social housing, integration, gender equality, senior services, youth

#### Office hours of the aldermen

Luxembourg City's aldermen are ready to answer any questions you have about current events or to discuss any other matters you wish to take up with them (except for municipal personnel matters).

The offices of the college of aldermen are open on Tuesdays from 8:00 to 9:00, except during school holidays. Please report to the reception desk when you arrive at Luxembourg City Hall.

# CITY COUNCILLOR



TANJA DE JAGER (DP)





JEFF WIRTZ (DP)

CLAUDE RADOUX (DP)



COLETTE MART (DP)



PATRICK GOLDSCHMIDT (DP)



SIMONE BEISSEL (DP)



LYDIE POLFER (DP)



SERGE WILMES (CSV)



LAURENT MOSAR (CSV)



MAURICE BAUER (CSV)



GUY FOETZ (DÉI LÉNK)



DAVID WAGNER (DÉI LÉNK)



ROY REDING (ADR)



MARC ANGEL (LSAP)



TOM KRIEPS (LSAP)



CATHY FAYOT (LSAP)



ISABEL WISELER LIMA (CSV)

SYLVIA CAMARDA (DP)



ELISABETH MARGUE (CSV)



PAUL GALLES (CSV)



CLAUDINE KONSBRÜCK (CSV)



FRANÇOIS BENOY (DÉI GRÉNG)



LINDA GAASCH (DÉI GRÉNG)



CHRISTA BRÖMMEL (DÉI GRÉNG)



### HISTORY OF PLACE GUILLAUME II

- Ca. 1225 The church and cloister of the Franciscan Order are built.
  - 1795 The monastery is occupied by French revolutionaries.
- 10 October After the occupation of Luxembourg's old City Hall (which is now the north wing of the Grand-Ducal Palace), Napoleon gifts Luxembourg City with the former Franciscan monastery, located on what is now Place Guillaume II.
  - 1844 A statue in honour of King and Grand Duke William II is erected.
  - 1977 An underground car park is built. Since 2018 (?), extension work has been under way.
  - 1980 Place Guillaume II is redeveloped as a pedestrian zone.



# HISTORY OF LUXEMBOURG CITY HALL

12 February 1827	The city's Conseil de Régence (regent's council) launches an architectural des competition to build a city hall on the site of the former Franciscan monaster
3 November 1827	Justin E. Rémont, an architect based in Liège, wins the competition and is asked to draw up the blueprints.
8 February 1830	The contract for the construction of the city hall, including masonry, roofing and all the main structural elements, is awarded to Nicolas Combé, a master mason in Luxembourg City, for a total of 45,640 florins.
15 July	The ground-breaking ceremony is held, attended by Ferdinand-Jacques Du Moulin, commander in chief of the fortress, and by Jean-Georges Willmar, governor of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.
1835	The main building structure and envelope are completed.
22 October 1838	The first session of the Conseil de Régence is held, chaired by François Scheffer, mayor of Luxembourg City.
June 1841	William II, King of the Netherlands and Grand Duke of Luxembourg, visits the city hall.
September 1842	The building's structure is strengthened with the installation of four additional columns in the entrance hall.
1844	Construction works are completed on the city hall, with a total cost of 250,000 francs.
1932	Two bronze lions by Luxembourg sculptor Auguste Trémont are installed.
1942	The vaulted cellar galleries, which had been used as a covered market, are converted into a library by the Nazi occupying force, before being restored to office space after the war.

# LUXEMBOURG CITY MAYORS SINCE 1827

François SCHEFFER

1827 - 1843

Fernand PESCATORE

1843 - 1848

Jean-Pierre David HELDENSTEIN

1849 - 1850

Gabriel Joseph DE MARIE

1850 - 1854

Jean-Pierre David HELDENSTEIN

1855 - 1865

Théodore EBERHARD

1865 - 1869

Jean MERSCH-WITTENAUER

1869 - 1873

Charles Mathias SIMONIS 1873 - 1875

Joseph Emmanuel SERVAIS

1875 - 1890

Dominique «Alexis» BRASSEUR

1891 - 1894

**Emile MOUSEL** 1894 - 1904

Jean-Pierre Alphonse MUNCHEN

1904 - 1915

Léandre LACROIX 1915 - 1918

Jean-Pierre HOUSSE 1918 - 1921

Gaston DIDERICH 1921 - 1940

Richard HENGST 1942 - 1943 (during the German occupation)

Gaston DIDERICH 1944 - 1946

**Emile HAMILIUS** 1946 - 1963

**Paul WILWERTZ** 1964 - 1969

**Colette FLESCH** 1970 - 1980

**Camille POLFER** 1980 - 1981

Lydie WURTH-POLFER 1982 - 1999

Paul HELMINGER 1999 - 2011

**Xavier BETTEL** 2011 - 2013

**Lydie POLFER** 2013 -



